Tuesday, September 20, 2011

One More Reason to Live: Why Not? Shortlisted for Canada's Largest Nonfiction Prize

It is with extreme pleasure and pride that we announce the shortlisting of Ray Robertson's Why Not? Fifteen Reasons to Live for the $60,000 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Nonfiction Prize.

Previously the Writers' Trust Prize, the Trust received a generous endowment from the Hon. Hilary Weston in May of 2011, creating what is now the largest nonfiction prize in Canada, and one of the most valuable nonfiction prizes in the world.

The prize is awarded for literary excellence in the category of nonfiction, which includes, among other forms, works of personal or journalistic essays; memoirs; commentary; and criticism, both social and political; history; and biography.

The shortlist was announced in a press conference held at the TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning. The other nominees are: Grant Lawrence (Adventures in Solitude), Richard Gwyn (Nation Maker), Charlotte Gill (Eating Dirt), and Charles Foran (Mordecai).

All nominees receive a cash prize of $5,000.00. The winner will be announced at the a special gala on October 25, 2011.

No comments: