Monday, April 02, 2012

Nancy Jo Cullen Wins the 2011-2012 Metcalf-Rooke Award



Biblioasis, along with judges John Metcalf and Leon Rooke, are pleased to announce the winner for the 2011-2012 Metcalf-Rooke Award for fiction: Canary by Nancy Jo Cullen.

Nancy Jo Cullen is the 4th recipient of the Writers’ Trust Dayne Ogilvie Grant for Emerging Gay Writer. She is the author of three collections of poetry. Her stories have been published in The Puritan, filling Station, and Grain Magazine.

In addition to the $1,500.00 cash prize, Cullen will also be given

• a publishing contract with BIBLIOASIS

• a leather-bound copy of the book

• a regional book tour, including festival appearances

Judges' Citation:

We were gladdened to find an author whose depiction of working-class family life was both unsentimental and tender. We were also struck by the clarity with which the idiosyncrasies of her characters emerge. Her portraits of gay culture are dazzlingly understated, her dialogue is superb, and her knack for comic detail a delight. This book is intoxicating.

-- John Metcalf and Leon Rooke


Also named last week on the Shortlist for 2011-2012 Metcalf-Rooke Award were: Girl, Gun, Zigzag, by Joel Katelnikoff; Fire on the Mountain, by Jean McNeil; Mating and Other Stories, by Lynne Kutsukake; and Slow Burning Lions, by Mark Rogers

Previous winners of the Metcalf-Rooke Award are Patricia Young for Airstream, Kathleen Winter for boYs, Rebecca Rosenblum for Once, Amy Jones for What Boys Like, A.J. Somerset for Combat Camera and Claire Tacon for In the Field.

No comments: