Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Metcalf-Rooke Shortlist Announcement

Emeryville – Biblioasis, along with judges John Metcalf and Leon Rooke, are pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2008-2009 Metcalf-Rooke Award for fiction. Selected from more than 90 entries, these five short fiction collections each exhibit an individual style and attention to craft. The winner of the $1,500.00 cash prize from Steven Temple Books will be announced on Friday, November 28th. In addition, the award recipient will be given

- a publishing contract with Biblioasis

- a book tour

- a profile in the New Quarterly

- a leather-bound copy of their winning book

- an appearance at the Ottawa International Writers Festival

- and the winning author will be featured at a TINARS launch (This Is Not A Reading Series) hosted by Pages Books and Magazines in Toronto

Shortlist for 2008-2009 Metcalf-Rooke Award for Short Fiction

Daniel Griffin. Mercedes Buyers’ Guide and Other Stories

Amy Jones. What Boys Like & Other Stories

Dave Margoshes. A Book of Great Worth: Stories from My Father

Ryan Turner. What We’re Made of

Terence Young. The Garden of Fugitives

Previous winners of the Metcalf-Rooke Award are Patricia Young for Airstream, Kathleen Winter for boYs, and Rebecca Rosenblum for Once. The Metcalf-Rooke Award is sponsored by Biblioasis, Steven Temple Books, The New Quarterly, TINARS and Pages Books and Magazines and the Ottawa International Writers Festival.

For further information

Dan Wells, Publisher, Biblioasis at (519) 968-2206 or e-mail,

No comments: