Thursday, July 24, 2008

The Fourth Annual Metcalf-Rooke Award

BIBLIOASIS is pleased to present
The Fourth Annual

Metcalf-Rooke Award

2005 - Patricia Young, Airstream. (short fiction)
2006 - Kathleen Winter, boYs (short fiction)
2007 - Rebecca Rosenblum, Once (short fiction)


This year's winner will receive:

  • a publishing contract with BIBLIOASIS
  • a leather-bound copy of their book
  • a $1,500 cash prize, presented by Steven Temple Books
  • a regional book tour, including festival appearances
  • a profile in The New Quarterly
and much more...


  • THE OBJECTIVE of the competition is to uphold and celebrate the tradition of small press publishing and independent bookselling in Canada, and to champion the writing of new and up-and-coming Canadian writers.
  • THE COMPETITION is open to all Canadian writers with an unpublished book-length manuscript of short or novel-length fiction. Manuscripts must be titled, typed, double-spaced and unstapled. The author’s name should not appear on the manuscript. All entries must be accompanied by a separate page containing the contestant’s full name, mailing address, telephone number, email address (optional), manuscript title, and brief bio (which should include a list of all previously published or forthcoming works). Manuscripts will not be returned.
  • SUBMISSIONS must be postmarked no later than September 30, 2008. A shortlist will be announced at the beginning of November. The winning manuscript will be announced November 30 with publication of the work in 2009.
Send your manuscripts to:

The Metcalf-Rooke-Award
c/o Biblioasis
P.O. Box 92
Emeryville, ON N0R 1C0

No comments: