Wednesday, August 06, 2008

CNQ/TNQ Salon Des Refuses

CNQ: Canadian Notes & Queries and TNQ: The New Quarterly
welcome you to our


A critical and artistic response to The Penguin Book of Canadian Short Stories, edited by Jane Urquhart, in which we tweak the beak of the Canadian Penguin and put forward work by twenty of the best short story writers in the country not included in said anthology:

Mike Barnes, Heather Birrell, Clark Blaise, Sharon English, Cynthia Flood, Keath Fraser, Douglas Glover, Terry Griggs, Mark Anthony Jarman, Elizabeth Harvor, Steven Heighton, Hugh Hood, Norman Levine, John Metcalf, Bharati Mukherjee, Patricia Robertson, Diane Schoemperlen, Ray Smith, Russell Smith and Patricia Young.

* * *

With critical contributions and appreciations by Caroline Adderson, Steven Beattie, Don Coles, Michael Darling, Stephen Henighan, Adrian Michael Kelly, Annabel Lyon, John Metcalf, Eric Ormsby and Michael Winter, among others.

Curated by Daniel Wells and Kim Jernigan

* * *

To be launched at Pages Books and Magazines's 'This is Not a Reading Series' at the Gladstone Hotel in toronto at 8:30 pm, August 13th, 2008, with a panel discussion on the role of criticism, canon-making and the state of the Canadian short story. Panelists include Kim Jernigan (editor of TNQ) as moderator; Salon Refuse-niks Mike Barnes, Heather Birrell and Sharon English; CNQ Salon critical contributors Steven Beattie and Adrian Michael Kelly; and CNQ publisher/editor Dan Wells.

No comments: